Thornhill Cemetery and Crematorium

A plan view of Thornhill cemetery and its exclusive sections. Please refer to the ‘Our Memorials’ page to see the type of memorials permitted in each of these sections.

Thornhill memorials wales gravestone grave stone memorial vase set cremation burial

Thornhill Cemetery was opened in 1952, with the Crematorium opening the following year. It is located in the Thornhill area of Cardiff, South Wales, and contains two chapels – Wenallt Chapel and Briwnant Chapel. There are eight Gardens of Remembrance for the scattering of cremated remains. It currently has over 3000 cremations and around 700 burials each year. 

Directions from M4


Take Pantmawr RdRhiwbina HillHeol Llanishen Fach and Thornhill Rd/A469 to your destination. Merge onto Northern Ave/A470 then take a slight left onto Pantmawr Rd. At the roundabout take the 2nd exit onto Rhiwbina Hill and continue onto Heol-Y-Deri. Turn left onto Heol Llanishen Fach, turn left onto Thornhill Rd/A469, turn left, continue straight and finally turn right.



Thornhill Rd, Cardiff CF14 9UA


Opening times


Mon-Fri     09:00 – 17:45

Sat-Sun     10:00 – 17:45


Thornhill memorials north cardiff wales gravestone grave stone memorial vase set cremation burial

Visit Us

1 Ty Glas Road,

Llanishen, Cardiff,

South Glamorgan,

CF14 5EB

Business Hours

Monday to Friday: 9am – 5pm,

Saturday and Sunday by prior appointment.

Contact Us

Tel: 029 2068 9595